Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

header for talksLast Thursday, as part of the Winter series of lectures organised by the Regional History, I delivered an illustrated talk on “The Quaker, William Penn ~ an alternative view of the founder of Pennsylvania”. 

Despite the cold and rain there was a good turnout of 45-50 people (including local Quakers and staff from the American Museum, Claverton Manor, Bath) to hear my talk on role of William Penn and his family in the colonisation of Ireland, Transatlantic Slave Trade and European expansionism in the North Americas.

There was great discussion both during and after the talk about differing (and, I think, changed) perceptions of the historical role of Quakerism.

My thanks to the UWE Regional History Centre and the M-Shed for their help and support.

If you would like me to give a talk to your organisation then just get in touch with me and I’ll be happy to try to oblige.

info on talk

